Skagit Speedway-STSS-NW Midgets 5/7/16

Check out Speedmart Sprint Car Auto Parts on Twitter! Check out Speedmart Sprint Car Auto Parts on Facebook! Check out Speedmart Sprint Car Auto Parts on Google +! Check out Speedmart Sprint Car Auto Parts on Instagram!

Speedmart Blog

Speedmart Team

Enter your email address below to receive updates when new blog posts are added!
Search All Blog Posts
Signup for Email Updates
Enter your email address:
Most Recent Posts
Blog Post Archive Categories
Skagit Speedway-STSS-NW Midgets 5/7/16
By: ~ 5/10/2016


Henry Van Dam would finally conquer his Skagit Speedway demons by going wire to wire to win the Summer Thunder Sprintcar Series feature event.

The surface at Skagit Speedway provided great racing and plenty of excitement as Henry sat outside row one with Steve Parker. Henry would make use of his starting spot, taking to the early lead using the high side.  With room on the bottom to pass slower traffic, Henry would begin moving around and through the slower cars until a caution flew on lap 10 for Luke Didiuk, Reece Goetz and Jake Helsel bringing the field together. At the restart it would be Jason Solwold putting a slider on Eric Fisher out of turn four to take second spot.  He would then begin his attempts at catching Henry.  At lap 15 there would be a red for a flipping Michael Bollinger, which would lead to an open red.  Yet, Henry would be just as strong after the open red as he would stretch his lead again until a red with seven laps left as the third place running Fisher and Colton Heath made contact, which would result in Eric getting upside down. On the restart, Henry would again escape from Jason and would keep enough distance between the two to take the win.  Jason would closed within three car lengths at the checkered flag, but settled for second after starting eighth with Heath coming home third.

Skylar Gee, Lance Sargent, Cam Smith and Tayler Malsam were heat winners.

Jason Solwold set quick time. Steve Reeves won the B Main.


  There would be 21 Triple X Northwest Focus Midget Series cars starting the A Main and when it was all said and done, defending Skagit Speedway and Northwest Focus Midget Series Champion Tristin Thomas took home the win.

Tristin would pass Chance Crum for the lead on lap five and off Tristin went off and was pretty much all by himself, all the while the racing behind him was fast and furious.  On one restart Garrett Thomas would challenge Tristin for the lead but would be unable to make it stick. Nick Evans and Eric Turner would also get in the mix and Garrett and Eric would get together.  Garrett would fall back as he was dealing with a tire going down.  Nick would finally take the runner up spot for good while Eric took third.  Eric would also get the SpeedMart Hard Charger award after advancing nine positions on the field.

The B Feature had the crowd on their feet as well as Shane Biles would make a late race pass on Al Goldie to get the win and Michael Hodel coming from nearly dead last to get Goldie for second.

Heat race winners were Michael Millard, Ryan Cully, Tristin Thomas and Garrett Thomas.


Kevin Kirkpatrick would win the Sportsman Sprint feature event at Grays Harbor Raceway.  Derek Roberts would finish second and Roger Oudman took third.

The heat was won by Derek and the fast time would go to Roger.

The Washington Modified Tour would see Jason Beaulieu take the feature event win.  Tom Sweatman and Brian Izzi would finish second and third.

Heats were won by Don Jenner, Tom and Kyler Moore.  Scott Miller would win the B feature.