Skagit Speedway/GHR - August 6, 2016

Check out Speedmart Sprint Car Auto Parts on Twitter! Check out Speedmart Sprint Car Auto Parts on Facebook! Check out Speedmart Sprint Car Auto Parts on Google +! Check out Speedmart Sprint Car Auto Parts on Instagram!

Speedmart Blog

Speedmart Team

Enter your email address below to receive updates when new blog posts are added!
Search All Blog Posts
Signup for Email Updates
Enter your email address:
Most Recent Posts
Blog Post Archive Categories
Skagit Speedway/GHR - August 6, 2016
By: ~ 8/9/2016


Skagit Speedway

August 6, 2016


 Kelsey Carpenter passes James Bundy late in the Cook Road Shell Sportsman Sprint Cars feature event to get the win.

Jared Peterson, piloting the Rutz Racing #8R Sportsman sprint car,  took the early lead from the outside front row. After an early race red flag and two cautions, Jared would once again take to the lead and would begin to maneuver through lapped traffic. It was when he looked to the bottom in turn one to get by two slower cars that would spin right when Jared passed, collecting him.  This handed the lead to James Bundy’s Bullet Racing #57.  James would have to hold off a hard-charging Kelsey Carpenter.  Kelsey stalked James on the high side until lap 20, that's  when Kelsey would finally build enough momentum to make the pass and go onto take the win at Skagit Speedway.  James would remain in second and Devin Barnes finished third.

Heat winners were Joe Lyon, Kevin Kirkpatrick and Kelsey.  Steve Parker would set quick time.


The High Society Modified division would see Mel Decker take to the early lead, but would soon be joined by brothers Rick and Kevin Smith for the top spot.  A few stoppages in the first half of the race would bunch up the field. Kevin Smith would take to the lead on a restart with Rick Smith in tow.  The two would spread themselves out from the rest of the field toward the second half of the race, swapping the lead multiple times.  A late-race caution bunched the field once again, and Lawrence O’Conner would make the best of the opportunity, following Kevin down the back straightaway and diving under the #7K car to take the lead coming off of turn four, O’Conner would see the checkered flag first, but in post-race tech was disqualified for having no muffler on his car. Kevin Smith would get the win.  Mel Decker went to second and Mike Knox, Jr. finished third.

Heat winners were Lawrence O'Conner and Rick Smith.


Grays Harbor Raceway
August 6, 2016 


 Trevor Cook would take the early lead of the feature event.  Steve Reeves looked to the outside of Cook in turn two, but couldn't make the pass.  Meanwhile, Colton Heath took over the third position, as Chase Goetz sat in fourth and Jake Helsel in fifth. As Trevor took to running the bottom of the raceway Reeves would look to catch any mistake. Steve would get by Cook out of turn three on lap 2 with Jake taking over second from Cook on the same lap. The first caution of the feature came out for Cook as he spun to a stop in turn 2 on lap 5. Reeves would be joined by some tough company with Helsel and Colton Heath right on his back bumper. Reeves slowly pulled away from Jake, as Colton looked to the low side of Helsel for second.  JJ Hickle and Reece Goetz of  brought out the caution as Reece spun to a stop in turn four on lap 10. Heath would look to the inside of Reeves on the restart, but the yellow flag flew for Jason Reed, spinning in turn one.

Colton would look to the inside groove to get the lead from Steve on the start, but wouldn't be able to complete the pass. Colton would try again a few laps later in turn four and successfully take the lead on lap 12.  It didn't take long for Heath to stretch his lead on Reeves and the rest of the field, as Hickle and Henry Van Dam battled for fourth. Van Dam quickly set his sights on Helsel for third, taking the spot on lap 14. Lap 20 would see the caution flag fly for Hickle after he made contact with the turn two wall bringing out a late race caution. Van Dam would attempt a slide job move on the restart in turn two, but couldn't make the pass. Heath continued to lead, having the momentum on the low side of the raceway and would go on to pick up the 360 Sprint Car feature win at Grays Harbor Raceway.  Van Dam would go onto finish second and Jay Cole, after starting 13th, would take third.

Heats were won by Henry Van Dam and Travis Jacobson.  Fast time was set by Jake Helsel.


Todd Hartmann would lead the field to the green flag on the 25 lap Northwest Focus Midget Series feature and he would take to the early lead over Doug Davidson.  Davidson looked to the outside of Hartmann out of turn two, but was unable to make the pass for the lead, as Hannah Lindquist, along with Chance Crum, joined in the battle.  Just as the action started to heat up, the red flag flew for  Lee St. Paul and Michael Vollbrecht as they both would get upside down in turn four. Hartmann would once again take to the lead on the restart, with Davidson, Lindquist and Jonathan Jorgenson following close behind. Hartmann looked quick on the low side of the raceway but had no room for a mistake with Davidson right on his back bumper.  Meanwhile, Nick Evans had worked his way into the top five racing with Lindquist and Crum.  Jorgenson looked to the inside of Davidson for second on lap 3 and took the position in turn three. Lap 5 saw Jorgenson run the low side of the raceway in turn four and take the lead from Hartmann and slowly pull away from the rest of the field.

Third through sixth position would see some great battles between Davidson, Evans, Lindquist, Crum and Tristin Thomas, with Evans moving into third around Davidson on lap 7. Jorgenson continued to stretch the lead over Hartmann looking comfortable out front. Hartmann saw Evans look to the inside line and make the pass out of turn four. Evans would quickly pull away, looking to track down Jorgenson for the lead. The battle for third was one to watch as Tristin Thomas and Hartmann, battled for a handful of laps. Thomas would get by Hartmann for third and looked to catch Jorgenson and Evans through lap traffic. Evans caught Jorgenson on the long green flag run through the lap traffic and took the lead on lap 15 in turn three. Tristin Thomas moved into the second spot a few laps later around Jorgenson, looking to track down Evans for the lead.

A late race caution on lap 20 for Ray Stebbins as he would spin in turn four.  After a 5 lap battle between Evans and Tristin Thomas for the lead. Evans would lead the field to the green flag with Thomas on his back bumper. Thomas took the lead from Evans on lap 21 with a pass in turn one, making slight contact with Evans. Evans looked to the low side down the backstretch, racing side by side with Thomas, but couldn't make the pass.  As the white flag waved, Evans looked to make one last attempt at Thomas for the win. Evans was there, waiting for the chance to make a move and did out of turn four coming to the checkered flag, picking up the win by 0.029 over Tristin Thomas.

Tristin would take second and Jonathan Jorgenson would finish third.

Tristin would also take the SpeedMart hard charger award as he gained eight spots.

Heat winners were Tristin, Garrett Thomas and Eric Turner.  Fast time was set by Tristin.